Album News

Photo by Kylie Coutts

Angel Olsen will return with her new album Whole New Mess on August 28th via Jagjaguwar.

It’s the first record that Olsen performed solo on since her 2012 debut. It’s an intimate and vulnerable emotional portrait that shows her grappling with a period of personal tumult – recorded with just a few guitars and some microphones while isolated in a century-old church in the Pacific Northwest.
Read the rest of this entry »

Oh Sees are back (this time under the Osees moniker), announcing their new album Protean Threat, which will be released September 18th via Castle Face Records.

With the announcement comes their new single “Dreary Nonsense.” It clocks it at 1:30 and packs all the punch that you expect from John Dwyer and company by now.

Find it streaming below, along with the album art and tracklist.

1. Scramble Suit II
2. Dreary Nonsense
3. Upbeat Ritual
4. Red Study
5. Terminal Jape
6. Wing Run
7. Said The Shovel
8. Mizmuth
9. If I Had My Way
10. Toadstool
11. Gong of Catastrophe
12. Canopnr ’74
13. Persuaders Up!

By now it’s likely you’ve heard the news that Taylor Swift will surprise release her new album folklore tonight at midnight. This is obviously big news in the pop music world but the real surprise and story was the way it also appealed to the indie music world.

This is because The National’s Aaron Dessner produced and co-wrote 11 out of the 16 songs. Not only that, but he was also joined by Justin Vernon of Bon Iver to write/sing on one song, and got his brother Bryce, The National’s drummer Bryan Devendorf, The National/Beirut’s Ben Lanz and Kyle Resnick, James McAlister and Josh Kaufman, as well as many others.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photo by Bryan Derballa

The Nude Party have announced their sophomore album Midnight Manor, which will be released via October 2nd via New West Records. The 12-song collection was recorded live-to-tape over six days at the Outlier Inn in upstate New York and mixed by John Agnello.

The band has shared the music video for new single “Shine your Light,” a track that continues the band’s modern take on classic rock, channeling many classics of the genre such as The Rolling Stones.

Enjoy the music video for “Shine Your Light” below, where you can also find the album art and tracklist.

    Midnight Manor tracklist:

1. Lonely Heather
2. Pardon Me, Satan
3. Cure Is You
4. Easier Said Than Done
5. Shine Your Light
6. What’s The Deal?
7. Cities
8. Thirsty Drinking Blues
9. Time Moves On
10. Judith
11. Things Fall Apart
12. Nashville Record Co.

Hoops Share New Song “Glad You Stayed”

By Will Oliver, July 22nd 2020

Photo by Athena Merry

Indiana indie rock trio Hoops will October 2nd via Fat Possum Records. Today they have followed-up recently released single Halo by Hoops“>”Fall Back” with album opener “Glad You Stayed.”

It’s a dreamy slice of 90’s rock with lush arrangements that captures the tough emotional subject of the song which is about a close friend of the band who attempted suicide.

The song’s writer Keagan Beresford explains:
Read the rest of this entry »