Photo by Wunmi Onibudo

Bloc Party announced their sixth studio album today, it’s entitled Alpha Games and will be released on April 29th 2022 via Infectious / BMG. It’s their first studio album since 2016’s Hymns.

The news comes with the release of first single “Traps” a song that features some heavy guitar riffs and a bit of that early Bloc Party sound that we haven’t quite heard in this manner in some time now.

Bloc Party singer, songwriter and guitarist Kele Okereke on the single said:

From the moment we wrote ‘Traps’, we knew it had to be the first thing people heard from this album; playing it in soundchecks on our last tour before it was finished and hearing how it sounded in those big rooms and outdoors.”

Enjoy a listen to “Traps” now below.

Alpha Games tracklisting

1. Day Drinker

2. Traps

3. You Should Know the Truth

4. Callum Is a Snake

5. Rough Justice

6. The Girls Are Fighting

7. Of Things Yet to Come

8. Sex Magik

9. By Any Means Necessary

10. In Situ

11. If We Get Caught

12. The Peace Offering

Join the conversation