Photos by Taryn Alper

Punk rock mainstays The Gories returned to Brooklyn on November 13th for a performance at Brooklyn Bazaar, which will be shutting down at the end of the month. So this was one of the last shows that will take place at the venue, making it a special one for many reasons. The show also featured opening performances from both Brandy and Mala Vista.

Our photographer Taryn Alper was there to capture photos from all three performances, all of which can be found posted in the gallery below along with The Gories’ setlist.
Read the rest of this entry »

[Photos]: Tool at Prudential Center (November 16, 2019)

By Will Oliver, November 20th 2019

Photos by Dutch Doscher

Tool returned this year for their very much long-awaited new album Fear Inoculum, their first album in 13 years. Along with the album came a big time arena tour, which brought them to Newark, New Jersey on November 16th for a performance at The Prudential Center.

This was our first time catching the band since they performed at Governors Ball back in 2017. Along with the new material the four-piece of Maynard James Keenan, Danny Carey, Adam Jones and Justin Chancellor ran through all of the expected long-standing favorites that filled up the Prudential Center with confidence and ease, with the band sounding completely triumphant and larger than life along the way with a big visual component that complements these older songs in a vibrant modern fashion.

Our photographer Dutch Doscher was there to capture photos from their performance, as well as openers Killing Joke. Find all of his shots posted along with Tool’s setlist below.
Read the rest of this entry »

[Photos]: Tei Shi at The Dance (November 15, 2019)

By Joe Saturday, November 20th 2019

Article + Photos by Joe Saturday

Tei Shi, the moniker of R&B/Pop artist Valerie Teicher, celebrated the release of her latest album, La Linda (via Downtown Records), with a pair of shows in New York and LA. Seeing that the album was largely inspired by a feeling of rejuvenation after relocating from New York City to Los Angeles, it was only fitting that the first two shows in support of La Linda would take place in those respective cities. We were fortunate enough to be in attendance for Tei Shi’s sold out show on the 15th of November at the new Manhattan venue The Dance.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photos by Dave Scholten

(Sandy) Alex G has been touring in support of his excellent new album House of Sugar which was released back in September via Domino Records.

We caught him preview the record earlier this year at an intimate performance at The Sultan Room and over the weekend he returned to Brooklyn for a big-time headlining performance at Brooklyn Steel on November 14th. It was his largest headlining show here to date and featured a good mix of the new material as well as many older favorites as well.

Our photographer Dave Scholten was there to capture shots from his performance at Brooklyn Steel, which you can find posted below along with the setlist and a shot of opener Tomberlin.


(Sandy) Alex G:

(Sandy) Alex G setlist:

1. Project 2 (Intro)
2. Gretel
3. Southern Sky
4. Hope
5. Bobby
6. Kute
7. Taking
8. Thorns
9. Kicker
10. Near
11. Bug
12. In My Arms
13. Brick
14. Horse
15. Bad Man
16. Mis
17. Walk Away
18. Crime
19. SugarHouse
20. Snot
21. Sarah
22. Mary
23. Harvey
24. Fay
25. Brite Boy
26. Change

Photos by Brianna DiGioia

Louisville, Kentucky’s very own Joan Shelley returned this year with her new album Like the River Loves the Sea, which was released via No Quarter Records.

She’s been touring in support of the LP, which brought her to New York on November 14th for a performance at The Park Church Co-Op.

Our photographer Brianna DiGioia was there to capture photos from her performance, as well as opener Jake Xerxes Fussell who served double duty also playing in Shelley’s band.

Find all of her shots posted in the gallery below.

Jake Xerxes Fussell:

Joan Shelley:

We Are Scientists reissued their still very much beloved debut album With Love And Squalor, which came out back in 2005. The band is preparing for a run of shows overseas in support of the re-release (which they are calling the 50th anniversary with their typical sense of humor) and warmed up with an intimate hometown show last week at Elsewhere Zone One on November 13th.
Read the rest of this entry »

Hop Along’s Frances Quinlan will release her debut solo album Likewise on January 31st, 2020 via Saddle Creek.

She previously shared the first single “Rare Thing,” and she’s recently returned with her second single, “Now That I’m Back.” It features Quinlan’s signature vocals but given a new sonic dimension full of space and electronics that surely separates her solo effort from her work with Hop Along.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photos by Dutch Doscher

Charly Bliss returned this year with their sophomore album Young Enough, but also a new EP Supermoon, both of which were released via Barsuk Records. Last week the band returned home for a performance at Webster Hall on November 13th, their largest headlining show to date.

As lead singer and frontwoman Eva Hendricks told the crowd that she used to dorm across the street while a student at NYU and told herself that someday her band would play there. And that they did, which made it a personal and celebratory night for her and the rest of the band. This was felt throughout the show including a cover of Robyn’s “Dancing on My Own” at the start of the encore.

Our photographer Dutch Doscher was there to capture photos from their performance, as well as both openers Samantha Urbani and Chloe MK. Find all of his shots posted in the gallery below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses