Grizzly Bear continued their support of new album Painted Ruins via RCA Records, bringing the tour back to New York in early November for a sold out three-night run at Brooklyn Steel.

We caught night two of the run on November 3 and the place was packed. These shows were of course much smaller than their warm-up show at Public Arts back in August.

While the setlist did feature many of the same offerings from Painted Ruins, they gave us a few surprises with what older material they offered, such as such as Yellow House tracks “Lullabye,” and “On A Neck On A Spit.” But most shockingly this show featured the tour debut of “Colorado,” which is, in my opinion, one of their best cuts. After playing the song, bassist and multi-instrumentalist Chris Taylor offered this memorable quote, “we don’t play that one often cause it’s long and a pain in the ass.” Gotta love the honesty.

It was a great performance that gave fans plenty to enjoy from each album while also feturing a band still very much on top of their game, reminded us why we can always rely on them to deliver not only great albums time and time again, but assured and impressive live performances.

Find more photos from their performance posted in the gallery below, along with the setlist.

Grizzly Bear Setlist:

1. Losing All Sense
2. Cut-Out
3. Lullabye
4. Ready, Able
5. Mourning Sound
6. Four Cypresses
7. Half Gate
8. Sleeping Ute
9. Yet Again
10. Fine for Now
11. Two Weeks
12. On a Neck, On a Spit
13. Foreground
14. Three Rings
15. Sun in Your Eyes


16. Colorado
17. While You Wait for the Others

Join the conversation