Grizzly Bear at Public Arts (August 23, 2017)

By Will Oliver, October 17th 2017 — with 2 comments Concert Photos Concert Reviews Listen

Grizzly Bear will headline Brooklyn Steel for three shows in November, but back on August 23 they played a very intimate show at new venue Public Arts to celebrate the release of new album Painted Ruins via RCA Records.

This was my first time seeing Grizzly Bear since their set at Governors Ball in 2013, making it a much more intimate experience. It was my first time at the venue, which felt like a Mercury Lounge sized room with the aesthetic of Terminal 5. A bit of an odd place for Grizzly Bear but when you get to see them in a tiny room like this, who am I to complain?

The setlist featured many new cuts from Painted Ruins, but also a selection of newer favorites like “Two Weeks,” “While You Wait For The Others,” and “Sleeping Ute,” as well as old school cuts like “Shift.” There was surprisingly nothing from Yellow House, giving us even more reason to return for more at Brooklyn Steel.

Even so, the band was in great spirits and just happy to be sharing these songs with a live audience back in New York, where they felt right at home.

Find the setlist posted below, along with a gallery of photos.

Grizzly Bear Setlist:

1. Four Cypresses
2. Losing All Sense
3. Yet Again
4. Cut-Out
5. Fine for Now
6. Speak in Rounds
7. Glass Hillside
8. Ready, Able
9. Mourning Sound
10. Sleeping Ute
11. Systole
12. Two Weeks
13. Foreground
14. Three Rings
15. While You Wait for the Others
16. Sky Took Hold


17. Shift
18. Sun in Your Eyes

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Spoon and Grizzly Bear at The Capitol Theatre (June 19, 2018) - We All Want Someone To Shout For at We All Want Someone To Shout ForGrizzly Bear at Brooklyn Steel (November 3, 2017) at We All Want Someone To Shout For Recent comment authors
Notify of

[…] 3 and the place was packed. These shows were of course much smaller than their warm-up show at Public Arts back in […]


[…] last year via RCA Records, touring almost non-stop since its release. We caught an intimate show at Public Arts in celebration of its release and then a proper headlining show at Brooklyn Steel later that year. […]


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: