Photos + Article by Will Oliver

Gorillaz are currently on tour bringing their unforgettable and highly imaginative live show stateside, which saw them return to New York for a performance on Wednesday, October 12th at Barclays Center (where we last saw them play, nearly four years to the very day).

Damon Albarn and co are preparing for the release of their new album Cracker Island (due out next February via Parlophone), and this tour served as a chance to hear some of the new material, along with songs from 2020’s Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez, which we didn’t get a tour for due to the pandemic.

The tour felt like a chance to get to hear some of these new songs for the first time, but even more so just as a greatest hits celebration and a collective way to reunite in a joyful and vibrant manner that only Albarn and his set of collaborators could provide in this manner.

Miho Hatori set the tone coming out for “19-2000” for the first time in 12 years, Thundercat played bass on new album single/title track “Cracker Island”, De La Soul come out for “Feel Good Inc.”, Del the Funkee Homosapien for “Clint Eastwood”, as well as Fatoumata Diawara, Sweetie Irie, and openers, EarthGang. You don’t see many shows where surprise guests are nearly expected and provided in this manner, but then again is the beauty of Gorillaz.

Enjoy a gallery of photos from the performance below, along with the setlist.

Gorillaz setlist:

  1. M1 A1
  2. 2. Last Living Souls
  3. Tranz
  4. White Light
  5. Tomorrow Comes Today
  6. 19-2000 (feat. Miho Hatori)
  7. Rhinestone Eyes
  8. Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
  9. O Green World
  10. On Melancholy Hill
  11. El Mañana
  12. New Genious (Brother)
  13. Empire Ants
  14. Skinny Ape
  15. Kids With Guns
  16. Opium (feat. EARTHGANG)
  17. Désolé (feat. Fatoumata Diawara)
  18. Andromeda
  19. Dirty Harry (feat. Bootie Brown)
  20. DARE
  21. Momentary Bliss
  22. Plastic Beach


23. New Gold (feat. Bootie Brown)
24. Stylo (feat. Bootie Brown)
25. Feel Good Inc. (feat. De La Soul)
26. Rock the House (feat. Del the Funky Homosapien)
27. Clint Eastwood (feat. Del the Funky Homosapien)

Join the conversation