Photo by Zackery Michael

Arctic Monkeys will return with their long-awaited new album The Car, which will be released on October 21st, via Domino Records.

The announcement comes the night after they debuted a new song live. The LP was recorded at Butley Priory in Suffolk, producer James Ford at Butley Priory, a converted monastery in rural Suffolk, in the summer of 2021. The decision not to go to a regular recording studio was inspired by some rock-and-roll legends.

In an interview with Big Issue, Alex Turner gave some insight on the new record and the sound that follows the previous record, Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. He says that “sci-fi is off the table. We are back to earth” and hints at a heavy use of strings to come:

“I think we’ve got closer to a better version of a more dynamic overall sound with this record. The strings on this record come in and out of focus and that was a deliberate move and hopefully everything has its own space. There’s time the band comes to the front and then the strings come to the front.”

We are still waiting to hear more of the new material but are glad that this new ERA of Arctic Monkeys in upon us and new tunes are much closer than we originally anticipated.

Find the tracklisting for The Car below, along with the album artwork which was taken by the band’s very own Matt Helders.

1. There’d Better Be a Mirrorball
2. I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am
3. Sculptures of Anything Goes
4. Jet Skis on the Moat
5. Body Paint
6. The Car
7. Big Ideas
8. Hello You
9. Mr Schwartz
10. Perfect Sense

Join the conversation