Photos by Qbertplaya

Last month the always reliable Kishi Bashi returned with his new album Omoiyari, released via Joyful Noise Recordings. The last time we saw him play we got to hear a preview of some of the new material and on June 19 Bashi and his new live band brought the tour in support of the new record to Brooklyn for a performance at Murmmr Theatre.

Bashi performed a good chunk of the new material off of Omoiyari, as well as old favorites. He ended the show in the middle of the crowd where he performed a 3-song encore unplugged with the lights of fans’ cellphones illuminating him and his band.

Our photographer Qbertplaya was there to capture photos from his performance as well as Takenobu, the project of cellist, Nick Ogawa, who was joined by his fiancee, violinist Kathryn Koch, who also performed as a part of Bashi’s band. Find a full photo gallery of photos from both performances below, along with the setlist.


Kishi Bashi:

Kishi Bashi setlist:

1. Penny Rabbit and Summer Bear
2. F Delano
3. Marigolds
4. Angeline
5. A Song for You
6. In Fantasia
7. Theme for Jerome
8. Wonder Woman, Wonder Me
9. I Am the Antichrist to You
10. Q&A
11. Can’t Let Go, Juno
12. Summer of ’42
13. The Ballad of Mr. Steak
14. Say Yeah
15. Honeybody


16. Annie, Heart Thief of the Sea
17. Violin Tsunami
18. Manchester

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Recent comment authors
Notify of

[…] Kishi Bashi returned this year with another strong new album with Omoiyari, released via Joyful Noise Recordings. This weekend (Saturday, November 2nd) he performed at Brooklyn Steel as a part of his tour in support of the new LP, which was his largest performance here in New York City to date (much bigger than his performance this summer at Murmrr). […]