All photos by Qbertplaya

Dean Wareham (of Luna and Galaxie 500) teamed up with Cheval Sombre this year for Dean Wareham Vs. Cheval Sombre, a “western dreampop” album of 10 western-themed covers, which was released on October 26 via Double Feature Records.

On December 7th they brought their live show to New York for a performance at Le Poisson Rouge that also featured Britta Phillips on bass, Roger Brogan on drums, Jason Quever on keyboard/guitar and Wareham and Sombre trading lead vocals. Wareham even played two Galaxie 500 songs: “Temperature’s Rising” and “Snowstorm.”

Our photographer Qbertplaya was there to capture photos from the performance, all of which you can find posted in the gallery below, along with the setlist.

Dean Wareham vs Cheval Sombre setlist:

1. The Bend In The River
2. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
3. Mountains Of The Moon
4. If I Could Only Fly
5. My Rifle, My Pony And Me
6. Alberta
7. Greensboro Woman
8. Grand Canyon
9. Along the Sante Fe Trail
10. Wayfaring Stranger
11. Heartless People
12. Love Is Colder Than Death
13. Emancipated Hearts
14. Temperature’s Rising (Galaxie 500 cover)
15. Snowstorm (Galaxie 500 cover)
16. lonesome cowboy bill

Join the conversation