On July 24, Muse returned to New York for a special performance at Central Park Summerstage as a benefit for The Coalition for the Homeless.

The show was a continuation of their tour for their 2015 album Drones, and more or less featured a similar set to what they gave us when we saw them last at the Prudential Center.

I won’t front, I am not a big fan of Muse’s output post-Black Holes and Revelations – and although they gave us all the expected favorites from that album, it would’ve been nice to hear more cuts from sophomore album Origin of Symmetry – which many could argue is the bands best album (though you of course could make a hard case for Absolution). It was cool to hear them dive back and give us “Bliss,” but it also made me itch for other older, better cuts from their catalog.

Getting to hear them finish with the always epic finale that is “Knights of Cydonia” reminds me that the band still have these sort of grand moments in them, but I just wish the band wouldn’t totally ignore some of their older material, as the set they delivered felt too comfortable and rehearsed, and it lacked a spark that would’ve made a show like this as special as it could’ve, and should’ve been.

Find photos from their performance posted below, along with the setlist.

Muse Setlist:

1. Dig Down
2. Psycho
3. Interlude
4. Hysteria
5. Map of the Problematique
6. Bliss
7. The 2nd Law: Isolated System
8. The Handler
9. Supermassive Black Hole
10. New Kind of Kick
11. Madness
12. Undisclosed Desires
13. Starlight
14. Time Is Running Out
15. Mercy


16. Uprising
17. Knights of Cydonia

Leave a Reply

Notify of


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: