Photos by Kevin McGann

John Cale, one of the founding members of the legendary The Velvet Underground, returned earlier this year with Mercy, his first new solo album in over a decade.

On Saturday, August 19, he returned to New York for a free performance at Prospect Park, as a part of the BRTIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival summer series.

It was Cale’s first performance in the city in six years and the packed audience came out in full force as a result. He ran through classics from the new record, his extensive back catalog, and a cover of Elvis’ “Heartbreak Hotel” and The Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting for the Man.”

Our photographer Kevin McGann was there to capture photos from his performance, as well as opener, Tomberlin. Find all of his shots posted in the gallery below.


John Cale:

John Cale setlist:

  1. Jumbo in tha Modernworld
  2. Hedda Gabler
  3. Night Crawling
  4. Moonstruck (Nico’s Song)
  5. Rosegarden Funeral of Sores
  6. Guts
  7. I’m Waiting for the Man (The Velvet Underground song)
  8. Cable Hogue
  9. Helen of Troy
  10. Out Your Window
  11. Heartbreak Hotel (Elvis Presley song)
  12. Mercy
  13. Half Past France
  14. Hanky Panky Nohow
  15. Barracuda

Join the conversation