Peter Gabriel Covers Arcade Fire/Bon Iver

By Will Oliver, February 1st 2010 — with 7 comments Covers MP3

Peter Gabriel is getting set to release Scratch My Back, his orchestral indie rock cover album. It is Peter’s first album in 7 years. Bob Ezrin produced the album that features covers from the likes of Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Bower, Elbow, and Radiohead.

I stumbled across two of the covers and want to share them with you. They are his rendition of Arcade Fire’s “My Body Is A Cage”, and Bon Iver’s “Flume”. Peter Gabriel taps into the mood set by both of these songs and successfully transforms it into his own. The orchestration is spot on, creating a really powerful effect on “My Body Is A Cage”. Even Win Butler and friends will be surprised at how powerful Peter’s cover is.

[mp3] : Peter Gabriel – My Body Is A Cage (Arcade Fire Cover)
[mp3] : Peter Gabriel – Flume (Bon Iver Cover)

Scratch My Back is due in stores on February 15th via Virgin. Check out the tracklisting below:

01 “Heroes” (David Bowie)
02 “The Boy in the Bubble” (Paul Simon)
03 “Mirrorball” (Elbow)
04 “Flume” (Bon Iver)
05 “Listening Wind” (Talking Heads)
06 “The Power of the Heart” (Lou Reed)
07 “My Body Is a Cage” (Arcade Fire)
08 “The Book of Love” (The Magnetic Fields)
09 “I Think It’s Going to Rain Today” (Randy Newman)
10 “Après moi” (Regina Spektor)
11 “Philadelphia” (Neil Young)
12 “Street Spirit (Fade Out)” (Radiohead)

Leave a Reply

5 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
joe spillanewimWillDewBadleychrisGaz@NokiaMusic Recent comment authors
Notify of

Not sure how keen I am on him covering Street Spirit… it’s one of those songs that you just don’t cover!


My body is a Cage is epic. I think his interpretation is interesting, though I like Arcade Fire’s more.


I’d say My Body is a Cage is my favorite track on the album. I also like the Bowie cover and I shared The Boy in the Bubble with my dad and he liked it.


Oh this is epic. The “My Body” cover is extraordinary. Delicious. I prefer it to the original – which I love as well.

This was a bold album Gabriel’s done. Who else could dare cover these songs? I’ve heard six of them so far, and they are radically different than the originals. He does Regina Spektor’s “Apres Moi” – stunning!

joe spillane
joe spillane

orchestrations are so overblown, they sound like John Williams writing for a Spielberg movie. Those corny French horns on every damn song.

he so lacks humor these days. PG used to be avant-garde, now he seems obsessed with being ‘respected’.

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses