I logged into my facebook account to get a notification from the Bloc Party account that was quite a pleasant surprise! The band have announced they have a new album all ready to go digitally on August 21st titled “Intimacy” You can pre-order it right on the band’s website right here.

The physical CD will be released on October 27. If you order the CD you will also benefit from the digital release on August 21st so that should be the way to purchase it for sure! They hinted about “Intimacy” on their first webchat today, and that it will be available to buy instantly. This is just another quick release that shows the change in the music industry that was caused by Radiohead.
The tracklisting for Intimacy:
1. Ares
2. Mercury
3. Halo
4. Biko
5. Trojan Horse
6. Signs
7. One Month Off
8. Zephyrus
9. Better Than Heaven
10. Ion Square
It was produced by Paul Epworth and Jacknife Lee who produced their 1st & 2nd albums respectively. This is a pleasant surprise for me, as Bloc Party are an important band to me. They were one of the first bands along with Arctic Monkeys that I really dove into and become the huge music enthusiast that I am today. Thank god for ‘In Rainbows’ instant online release, this hopefully will cause more bands to follow over time!! Can’t wait to hear what it sounds like, since we all have to idea.

The note I received described the album as:

” Some songs are Bloc Party at their most experimental, while other tracks are classic Bloc Party fitting seamlessly amongst fan favorites ‘Helicopter’, ‘Banquet’, and So Here We Are'”
Stream Mercury below:

Bloc Party – Mercury (MP3) (courtesty of

Join the conversation