Gaspard Eden – “Pancakes”

By Will Oliver, July 3rd 2020

Photo by Ariane Boudreau

Canadian singer-songwriter Gaspard Eden will return with his new album Soft Power. Back in May we shared first single “Soft Power” and he’s since returned with a brand new music video for b-side and follow-up “Pancakes.”

The track takes a bit of a glam rock approach that suites his vocals undeniably well. The track feels like it could’ve been pulled out of the early 90s Brit rock scene, but packing a bit of a folk-leaning emotional punch that feels every bit real and raw.

Find the clever music video for “Pancakes” available to watch which features claymation, created and animated by Phil Berge.

Glass Animals Share New Song “Heat Wave”

By Will Oliver, July 3rd 2020

Photo by Pooneh Ghana

Glass Animals will return with their new album Dreamland via Republic Records on August 7th, a new date in order to respect and support the ongoing Black Lives Matter movement.

We already heard the title track and the band has since returned with new single “Heat Wave.” It sees the band wrap into a pop-minded hook and never let go. It’s a catchy tune that sees them lean harder into the electronic pop direction that does suite them quite well.
Read the rest of this entry »

Muunjuun – “Some Days in Time”

By Will Oliver, July 3rd 2020

Muunjuun, the project of musician Curtis James, “Some Days in Time.” It was recorded in his living room and sees him playing all of the instruments (violin, bass, guitar, drumset).

The track actually was released last year but it’s a perfect fit for some chill summer listening, emulating some of the early days and sounds of Mac DeMarco and Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

Enjoy the “Some Days in Time” music video below.

Photo by Mikael Johansson

Fear Of Men have returned with their first new song in four year with their brand new single “Into Strangeness.” The track sees the now-duo return with that moody and atmospheric sound that they have confidently crafted with every new release. It’s got a reflective post-punk tone and even a little bit of a saxophone that gives their sound an entirely new dimension.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photo by Ellius Grace

Ireland’s Fontaines D.C. will return with their sophomore album A Hero’s Death on July 31 via Partisan Records. They’ve already shared two tracks from the album the anthemic self-titled track and the more moody opening cut “I Don’t Belong.”

Today they’ve returned with the third single “Televised Mind,” one of the highlights from their incredibly strong sophomore effort. This one carries the weight of dark-tinted Joy Division tune with an even more primal feel and sonic exploration that shows their continued growth as a band.

The release of the song comes with a brand new music video directed by Hugh Mulhern. Find that available to watch below, along with a description of the track from frontman and lead singer Grian Chatten:

This song is about the echo chamber, and how personality gets stripped away by surrounding approval. People’s opinions get reinforced by constant agreement, and we’re robbed of our ability to feel wrong. We’re never really given the education of our own fallibility. People feign these great beliefs in order to appear trendy, as opposed to independently arriving at their own thoughts.

We were listening to a lot of The Prodigy and The Brian Jonestown Massacre, specifically their song “Open Heart Surgery”. I was interested in extrapolating those types of chord progressions and capturing this droning, hypnotic feel. That last line repeated over and over [“What ya call it”] is a buffer expression that people used here in Dublin. It’s sort of like “umm” or “well…” – it’s what people say when they’re distracted.”

Durham, North Carolina singer-songwriter H.C. McEntire will return with her sophomore album Eno Axis on August 21st via Merge Records.

Along with the new album announcement comes the release of lead single “Time, On Fire.” It’s the sort of magical and lovely folk-inspired outing that she gave us on her debut album Lionheart, just done with an even more expansive pallette.

Find the music video for “Time, On Fire” available to watch below, where you can also find the album artwork and tracklisting.

    Eno Axis Tracklisting:

1. Hands for the Harvest
2. Footman’s Coat
3. High Rise
4. River’s Jaw
5. One Eye Open
6. Final Bow
7. True Meridian
8. Sunday Morning
9. Time, On Fire
10. Houses of the Holy