Mountain Soundsystems – “ORMUS”

By Will Oliver, February 17th 2020

Mountain Soundsystems is a Seattle-based electronic music producer Jared Sand, who makes live instrumental jams and psychedelic grooves.

On his debut offering “Ormus,” he creates trippy electronic soundscapes layered with synths and beats. His goal is to create a dream-like feeling, or “perhaps the soundtrack for a newer science fiction movie taking place somewhere in space.”
Read the rest of this entry »

Article and Photos by Brian Berson

Folk trio The Wood Brothers returned with their new album Kingdom In My Mind on January 24th, which wass released via Honey Jar/Thirty Tigers. On January 30th the band kicked off the first of a two-night run at Webster Hall, touring in support of the new record.

Kat Wright

Opening things up was Kat Wright and her band from Vermont are performing as a trio. Usually, they play live with their full eight-piece band with a drummer and horn section but are doing a stripped-down set for this tour. They were able to pour so much soul into their songs with just vocals, guitar and bass. As the opener, they did a phenomenal job of warming up the crowd.

The Wood Brothers

When The Wood Brothers took the stage they jumped right into Pray Enough to the crowds delight. Not just a clever name the band is comprised of brothers Chris and Oliver Wood with drummer/keyboardist Jano Rix rounding out the trio. Chris Wood is mainly known as the bass virtuoso in the jazz/funk jam band Medeski,Martin and Wood but when he gets together with his brother Oliver they deliver a solid set of well-crafted folk and Americana tunes with busy enough groove to keep the audience dancing.

The Wood Brothers

Oliver’s guitar playing and singing perfectly compliments Chris and Jano’s groove. When Jano isn’t keeping busy on stage playing drums, keyboard and singing he joins the brothers midstage playing his “shuitar” which is a hybrid acoustic guitar and percussion instrument adorned with metal jingles, wood blocks to hit and other add ons to turn a guitar into a full percussion instrument.

Mixing up the set from their full catalog they gave the crowd a great taste of their newest record “Kingdom In My Mind” by playing five new songs which were incredibly well-received. Throwing in covers of “Big Road Blues” by Tommy Johnson and mixing the funk song “Express Yourself” by Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band with their own “Happiness Jones” and set closer “Get Out Of My Life, Woman” by Alan Toussaint” The Wood Brothers prove they can easily handle many genres.
The Wood Brothers will be on tour with dates stretching until summer hitting some of the big music festivals. Shows are selling out but everyone should try and check them out when they’re in your town.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photos by Bryan Lasky

Krantz Carlock Lefebvre, the trio led by Wayne Krantz and featuring drummer Keith Carlock and bassist Tim Lefebvre, stopped into Cambridge, Massachusets on the night of January 30th for a performance at Regattabar.

Our photographer Bryan Lasky was there to capture shots from their performance, all of which can be found posted in the gallery below.
Read the rest of this entry »

[Photos]: Deerhoof at Elsewhere (January 28, 2020)

By Will Oliver, February 17th 2020

Photos by Qbertplaya

Deerhoof and their label Joyful Noise Recordings recently released their special box set Children of Hoof Music Library 25th Anniversary Cassette Box Set which features all 15 of their studio albums as well as Surprise Symphonies, a collection of b-sides and rarities from their first 25 years as a band.

The band are never ones to shy away from live performances, and on January 28th they brought their always colorful and unique live show to Elsewhere.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photos + Article by Will Oliver

Snoop Dogg returned last year with his new album I Wanna Thank Me, and has been touring in support of the album as a part of his “I Wanna Thank Me Tour.” On January 23rd, following a performance in New York City, Snoop brought the tour to Montclair, New Jersey for a sold out performance at The Wellmont Theater.

Snoop made the night memorable with a stage set up that features two strippers dancing throughout the performance on both sides of the stage. He performed three songs from the new album but gave the people what they really wanted and ran through all of his hits throughout his career of nearly three decades.

Along with old favorites like “Gin and Juice,” “Who Am I? (What’s My Name?)” and some of his most memorable features (“Nuthin’ but a “G” Thang,” “P.I.M.P.) Snoop took some time to tribute to some of his heroes and friends. This included N.W.A. with “Boyz-n-the-Hood,” The Notorious B.I.G. with “Hypnotize” and 2Pac with “Gangsta Party.”

The high energy performance was loose and the energy and love was felt from Snoop the entire night and reciprocated by the adoring crowd.

Find a full set of photos posted in the gallery below, along with the setlist.

Snoop Dogg setlist:

1. What U Talkin’ Bout
2. The Next Episode (Dr. Dre cover)
3. Nuthin’ but a “G” Thang (Dr. Dre cover)
4. Doggystyle
5. P.I.M.P. (50 Cent cover)
6. Who Am I? (What’s My Name?)
7. Wrong Idea
8. Words Are Few
9. Sexual Eruption
10. I Wanna Fuck You (Akon cover)
11. Loosen’ Control
12. Smile Bitch (Lil’ Duval cover)
13. Lodi Dodi
14. Ain’t No Fun (If the Homies Can’t Have None)
15. I’m Fly
16. Ups & Downs


17. Lay Low
18. Jump Around (House of Pain cover)
19. Drop It Like It’s Hot
20. Take Me Away
21. All I Do Is Win (DJ Khaled cover)
22. One Blood, One Cuzz
23. Boyz-n-the-Hood (N.W.A cover)
24. Hypnotize (The Notorious B.I.G. cover)
25. Gangsta Party (2Pac cover)
26. Gin and Juice

Sonny Hell – “Behind The Blue Sky”

By Will Oliver, February 17th 2020

Brooklyn-based musician Sonny Hell won us over back in October with his track “Rogue Wave” and he’s done it again with his latest single, “Behind The Blue Sky.”

It’s an energetic rocker that wastes no time launching off into the sun, with a warm summery feeling felt along the way. Never stopping for air, “Behind The Blue Sky” has a bit of Springsteen and some of the wide-open road feeling of The War On Drugs. It’s everything a good rock tune should be.

Here’s Sonny Hell’s explanation about the track:
Read the rest of this entry »

13//ali_fawn – “Mirrorshade”

By Will Oliver, February 17th 2020

Detroit-based producer 13//ali_fawn has returned with new track “Mirrorshade,” following “Future Swim,” which we shared back in December.

The instrumental has a cinematic quality to it, showcases many tones and textures, creating a colorful sonic palette along the way. Smooth and funky, smarty produced and executed, it’s a track that never stops evolving and changing shapes.

Here’s a description of the making of the track from the artist himself:
Read the rest of this entry »