Music Video

French 79 – “Hometown”

By Will Oliver, September 21st 2019

Marseille-based electro-pop artist French 79, aka Simon Henner, has returned with a lovely new track called “Hometown,” which will be included on his new album Joshua, which will be released this fall via Alter K.

The track boldly operates within the world of 80s inspired synth influences with some wide-spanning cinematic qualities and a soaring chorus. All of these influences are felt and seen in the fitting music video for the track, which was directed by Cauboyz.

Find the music video for “Hometown” below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Gold Dime – “My House”

By Will Oliver, September 21st 2019

Photo by Jen Dessinger

New York’sGold Dime will release their new album My House on October 11 via Fire Talk Records. Today we have the brand new video of the title track and single, which was directed by the band’s very own Andrya Ambro to share with you.

“My House” has a distinct and unique art-rock flavor to it that is captured to perfection in the music video, which was shot at the legendary performance art space The Kitchen in New York City, where Ambro, Wakeman and bandmate Ian Douglas-Moore all sometimes work.

You can find the video available to watch below (along with their upcoming tour dates) and find the album available to preorder here.

Gold Dime Tour Dates:

10.09 – New York, NY @ Alphaville (Records Release Show)
10.10 – Northampton, MA – Red Cross
10.11- Philadelphia, PA – Jerrys on Front
10.12 – Baltimore, MD – True Vine Record Store
10.14 – Pittsburgh, PA – Collision
10.15 – Cleveland, OH – Mahall’s, The Locker Room
10.16 – Chicago, IL – The Hideout
10.17 – Detroit, MI – Trumbullplex
10.18 – Cincinnati, OH – The Comet
10.19 – Columbus, OH – Skylab
10.22 – Boston, MA – Dorchester Art Project
10.23 – Washington DC – Rhizome

Cataldo – “Ding Dong Scrambled Eggs”

By Will Oliver, August 10th 2019

Photos by Kendall Rock

Cataldo, the project of Seattle-based musician Eric Anderson, will return with his John Vanderslice-produced third album Literally Main Street on September 27th.

The record gets a preview via the first single “Ding Dong Scrambled Eggs.” The track has a 90s indie rock charm and spirit to it that is carried throughout the cleanly produced track, with some heartfelt vocals and nice horn arrangements that compliment the rest of the track is a delightfully passionate fashion. The lyricism and delivery call to mind some of the work of John Darnielle and The Mountain Goats.

Find the music video for “Ding Dong Scrambled Eggs” below, along with Cataldo’s upcoming tour dates.
Read the rest of this entry »

Recap: Newport Folk Festival 2019 – Day 3

By Will Oliver, August 6th 2019

Jim James and Kermit

Following a Newport Folk Festival finale for the ages in Day 2, it was a lingering question all day about how they could possibly match The Collaboration, a female-led set curated by Brandi Carlile featuring tons of surprise appearances, mainly from the legendary Dolly Parton. But with Newport, you always know you’re going to get something special and Day 3 delivered in ways equally surprising and heartfelt and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

J.S. Ondara

Our day began with a breathtaking performance from J.S. Ondara, who blew everyone in the audience away, including us. It was a high point of the day, followed up by sets from Lake Street Dive, Courtney Marie Andrews and Our Native Daughters. We then had a few minutes to take some portraits behind the scenes with Dawes and then caught a solo performance from Trey Anastasio of Phish on the Fort Stage.
Read the rest of this entry »

Gardens & Villa – “Rosie”

By Will Oliver, August 4th 2019

California indie rock band Gardens & Villa have returned after a three-year hiatus with their brand new single “Rosie.”

The track is the first in a collection of songs that the band had planned on finishing with the late producer/musician Richard Swift. They have decided to carry on and have shared the first of these efforts with the lovely folk-led single that is “Rosie.”

Find the music video for “Rosie” posted below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Your Smith – “In Between Plans”

By Will Oliver, July 29th 2019

Your Smith, the project of Los Angeles’ Caroline Smith, has returned with her sunny and infectious new single “In Between Plans,” which was recently released via Neon Gold Records.

The track finds a groovy mix between smart indie-pop that is full of infectious energy and an undeniable hook that seems to grow and grow further as the song goes along.

Enjoy a listen to “In Between Plans” below via an official lyric music video, which was directed by Gemma Warren.
Read the rest of this entry »

The Chats – “Identity Theft”

By Will Oliver, July 29th 2019

Australian trio The Chats have been building some solid buzz for the past year and have kept it going full force with their U.S. tour which has them selling out rooms across the states.

A lot of this comes from the viral success of their music videos. The band most recently just released a brand new video for their single “Identity Theft,” which keeps their brand of silly but infectious garage rock going strong.

Find the video for “Identity Theft” posted below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Tummyache – “Median”

By Will Oliver, July 29th 2019

Tummyache is the indie rock project of Nashville’s Soren Bryce. She’s preparing to release their debut EP Humpday later this year and has showcased their triumphant indie rock sound with the powerhouse new single “Median.”

It hits hard with a rollicking and pummelling rhythm and tight garage-rock riffs, not to mention a very 90s-esque chorus that actually reminds a bit of a mix of earlier St. Vincent and Sharon Van Etten, mixed with the power and atmosphere of Wolf Alice. It’s a rock anthem that earns every bit of that phrase and puts Tummyache on the path to be a rock voice to keep a firm eye (and ear) on.

Enjoy the music video for “Median,” which is posted below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses