Photos + Article by Will Oliver

CSS returned to New York City for their first tour in 11 years, giving us a high-energy and typically joyous performance as if they never left.

This was my first time seeing them since All Points West in 2008. The band came out as if they had never left – though a part of the overwhelming anticipated was of course due to their extended absence.

All the waiting came to a head when Lovefoxxx and the band took the stage to “CSS Suxxx” and kept the energy going at a supernova pace when they surprisingly then launched into their hit “Music Is My Hot Hot Sex.” From there, the band had the crowd in the palm of their hand and delivered favorites from across their career.

The band delivered a memorable joyful vibrant dance party of their own, featuring a cover of Madonna’s “Hollywood” as well as a rapturous performance of Let’s Make Love and Listen to Death From Above”. This show had been a long time coming and we can only hope the wait isn’t as long until the next time that they’re back in town.

Find a full gallery of photos from the performance posted in the gallery below, along with shots of opener Sloppy Jane (Who you can see in the film I Saw The TV Glow out now in theaters)

Sloppy Jane:


CSS setlist:

  1. CSS Suxxx
  2. I Love You
  3. Music Is My Hot Hot Sex
  4. Hits Me Like A Rock
  5. Alcohol
  6. Move
  7. Dynamite
  8. Fuck Everything
  9. Hollywood @Cover[79239441-bfd5-4981-a70c-55c3f15c1287]
  10. City Grrrl
  11. Teenage Tiger Cat
  12. This Month, Day 10
  13. Red Alert
  14. Let’s Reggae All Night
  15. Let’s Make Love and Listen to Death From Above


16.I Wanna Be Your J.Lo

17. Art Bitch

18. Alala

    Join the conversation