Photo by Lindsey Byrnes

To be frank with you 2020 has been a shit year outside of the rather surprising set of new music releases that we have gotten, and we are only at the midway mark.

One of the things I wasn’t expecting was the return of Secret Machines. But they have announced their return with Awake in the Brain Chamber, their first new album in 12 years. Yeah, it’s been a while.

A lot has happened since then, with their hiatus and the tragic loss of Brandon Curtis’ brother and Secret Machines bandmember Benjamin Curtis. Although gone, he’s certainly not forgotten and his presence is certainly still very much on this new record as Brandon discusses:

I began writing these songs at a time I remember feeling alone and lost, and I think the songs have that in their DNA. I started sharing early versions with Benjamin who gave me notes as well as encouragement. I am sure that without his influence this album would never have seen the light of day.

The duo of Brandon and Josh Garza has given us our first taste of the LP with single “Talos’ Corpse,” which is available to stream below, where we’ve also shared the album art and tracklist.

1. . 3,4,5, Let’s Stay Alive
2. Dreaming is Alright
3. Talos’ Corpse
4. Everything’s Under
5. Everything Starts
6. Angel Come
7. A New Disaster
8. So Far Down


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: