Photo by Frank Ockenfels

Phoebe Bridgers has announced that her highly anticipated new album Punisher will be released via Dead Oceans on June 19th. The album will included the previously released “Garden Song.”

Punisher was written and recorded between the summer of 2018 and the fall of 2019 that sees her co-produce along with Stranger In The Alps producers Tony Berg and Ethan Gruska. Along with her bandmates Marshall Vore (drums), Harrison Whitford (guitar), Emily Retsas (bass) and Nick White (piano), the album also sees appearances from Conor Oberst, Lucy Dacus, Julien Baker, Blake Mills, Jenny Lee Lindberg, Christian Lee Hutson, and Nick Zinner.

Today’s news also saw her release the album’s next single “Kyoto,” which Bridgers wrote following her first trip to Japan in February 2019. The track has an upbeat feel to it that captures the sound that she and Oberst formed on their collabrative album as Better Oblivion Community Center. With some well placed horns and her now-signature vocals, the song soars and hits an emotional arc like all of her best material always does.

The music video for “Kyoto” was shot on a green screen, after her plans to shoot it in Japan in March 2020 were understandbly cancelled.

Says Bridgers of the track:

This song is about impostor syndrome. About being in Japan for the first time, somewhere I’ve always wanted to go, and playing my music to people who want to hear it, feeling like I’m living someone else’s life. I dissociate when bad things happen to me, but also when good things happen. It can feel like I’m performing what I think I’m supposed to be like. I wrote this one as a ballad first, but at that point I was so sick of recording slow songs, it turned into this.

Find the video for “Kyoto” available to watch below. You can also find the album artwork and tracklisting as well.

Punisher Tracklisting:

1. DVD Menu
2. Garden Song
3. Kyoto
4. Punisher
5. Halloween
6. Chinese Satellite
7. Moon Song
8. Savior Complex
9. ICU
10. Graceland Too
11. I Know The End

Leave a Reply

Notify of


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: