Article and Photos by Brian Berson

Folk trio The Wood Brothers returned with their new album Kingdom In My Mind on January 24th, which wass released via Honey Jar/Thirty Tigers. On January 30th the band kicked off the first of a two-night run at Webster Hall, touring in support of the new record.

Kat Wright

Opening things up was Kat Wright and her band from Vermont are performing as a trio. Usually, they play live with their full eight-piece band with a drummer and horn section but are doing a stripped-down set for this tour. They were able to pour so much soul into their songs with just vocals, guitar and bass. As the opener, they did a phenomenal job of warming up the crowd.

The Wood Brothers

When The Wood Brothers took the stage they jumped right into Pray Enough to the crowds delight. Not just a clever name the band is comprised of brothers Chris and Oliver Wood with drummer/keyboardist Jano Rix rounding out the trio. Chris Wood is mainly known as the bass virtuoso in the jazz/funk jam band Medeski,Martin and Wood but when he gets together with his brother Oliver they deliver a solid set of well-crafted folk and Americana tunes with busy enough groove to keep the audience dancing.

The Wood Brothers

Oliver’s guitar playing and singing perfectly compliments Chris and Jano’s groove. When Jano isn’t keeping busy on stage playing drums, keyboard and singing he joins the brothers midstage playing his “shuitar” which is a hybrid acoustic guitar and percussion instrument adorned with metal jingles, wood blocks to hit and other add ons to turn a guitar into a full percussion instrument.

Mixing up the set from their full catalog they gave the crowd a great taste of their newest record “Kingdom In My Mind” by playing five new songs which were incredibly well-received. Throwing in covers of “Big Road Blues” by Tommy Johnson and mixing the funk song “Express Yourself” by Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band with their own “Happiness Jones” and set closer “Get Out Of My Life, Woman” by Alan Toussaint” The Wood Brothers prove they can easily handle many genres.
The Wood Brothers will be on tour with dates stretching until summer hitting some of the big music festivals. Shows are selling out but everyone should try and check them out when they’re in your town.

Find a full set of photos from both performances, along with The Wood Brothers’ setlist, posted in the gallery below.

Kat Wright:

The Wood Brothers:

The Wood Brothers setlist:

1. Pray Enough
2. Postcards From Hell
3. American Heartache
4. Jitterbug Love
5. Shoofly Pie
6. The One I Love
7. When I Was Young
8. Lovin’ Arms
9. Little Bit Broken
10. Chocolate on My Tongue
11. Big Road Blues (Tommy Johnson cover)
12. One Drop of Truth
13. Atlas
14. I Got Loaded (Little Bob & The Lollipops cover)
15. One More Day
16. Cry Over Nothing
17. Keep Me Around
18. Happiness Jones / Express Yourself
19. Snake Eyes


20. Luckiest Man
21. Get Out of My Life, Woman (Allen Toussaint cover)

Leave a Reply

Notify of


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: