On Monday night, May 13th, legendary rockers The Who brought their “Moving On! Tour” to New York for a performance at Madison Square Garden. The tour has featured a local orchestra playing alongside the band as they run through their impressive catalog of classics.

The duo of singer Roger Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend were joined by guitarist/backup singer Simon Townshend, keyboardist Loren Gold, bassist Jon Button and drummer Zak Starkey as they ran through a 24-song set primarily of tracks from their classic albums Tommy and Quadrophenia. The set was broken up into three parts, with the first one featuring the orchestra, a second one without them, with them rejoining the band during the third. The orchestra added just enough new to the songs without ever taking away from them, allowing favorites such as “Pinball Wizard,” “Who Are You,” “Love, Reign O’er Me” and “Baby O’Riley” to still shine with all the punch that fans would come to expect.

Both Daltrey and Townshend are in their 70s but gave their all throughout the performance which was actually somehow the first time that I have ever seen them before. Shame on me, as they delivered a wonderful performance that was as rocking as it was moving.

Find a full gallery of photos posted below, along with the setlist.

The Who setlist:

[With Orchestra]

1. Overture
2. It’s a Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Pinball Wizard
7. We’re Not Gonna Take It
8. Who Are You
9. Eminence Front
10. Imagine a Man
11. Join Together

[Without Orchestra]

12. Substitute
13. I Can See for Miles
14. Won’t Get Fooled Again
15. Behind Blue Eyes
16. Tea & Theatre @Info

[With Orchestra]

17. The Real Me
18. I’m One
19. The Punk and the Godfather
20. 5:15
21. Drowned
22. The Rock
23. Love, Reign O’er Me
24. Baba O’Riley

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Recent comment authors
Notify of

[…] Classic rock legends The Who are still on the road as a part of their “Moving On! Tour,” where they played MSG back in May. […]


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: