Margaret Glaspy surprise-released Born Yesterday via ATO Records on March 2nd and in support of the three song EP, she embarked on a three-leg tour. The second-leg of the tour found her gracing the stage of Le Poisson Rouge on May 12 accompanied by guitar virtuoso Julian Lage. Support came from Liza Anne who performed a solo set.

We last caught Margaret Glaspy at Coffey Park in 2017 backed by a full band, so this duo performance was a much different experience. The guitar flourishes added by Julian Lage served to enhance Glaspy’s voice and lyrics, with the resulting chemistry enrapturing the reverent LPR audience. The intimate, low-key affair offered selections from Glaspy’s 2016 full-length release Emotions and Math, the entirety of her Born Yesterday EP, a handful of cover songs, a solo performance Julian Lage, and songs written together by both Glaspy and Lage for their collaborative project named Rude Ruth.

For the Margaret Glaspy setlist and a photo gallery of Margaret Glaspy with Julian Lage and supporting act Liza Anne, continue below.

Liza Anne

Margaret Glaspy and Julian Lage

Margaret Glaspy setlist

1. Best Behavior (Rude Ruth)
2. Book With No Binding (Rude Ruth)
3. Emotions and Math
4. Pins & Needles
5. Love Like This
6. No Matter Who
7. Situation
8. Study for Electric Guitar (Julian Lage solo)
9. Somebody to Anybody
10. Katonah (Rude Ruth)
11. Harvest Moon (Neil Young cover)
12. Made a Scene (Rude Ruth)
13. Real Emotional Girl
14. I Love You Goodnight
15. You & I
16. One Heart and Two Arms
17. Before We Were Together


18.Fruits of My Labor (Lucinda Williams cover)

Join the conversation