Jen Cloher finally broke through in the U.S. last year with her terrific self-titled album which was one of my favorites of the year.

Last fall she opened for Courtney Barnett (who Cloher is married to) and Kurt Vile at Loew’s Jersey Theatre. That performance was a solo acoustic one that offered some nice stripped down versions of her songs.

She returned here for a proper headlining show of her own in support of her record, stopping in for a sold out show at Rough Trade NYC on January 30. This time around Cloher brought a full band with her, which included Barnett on guitar, Barnett’s guitarist Bones Sloane and drummer Jen Sholakis. Her songs were already rocking with garage grit and smarts on the record, but being backed such a talented band gave her material even more oomph and life that made all the difference, especially in the tight quarters of Rough Trade NYC.

Cloher is not new to the scene but this Stateside success here is long overdue and it’s clear that career is only going full steam ahead from here on out.

The show was opened by fellow Australian songwriter Mia Dyson who opened things up nicely, sharing some songs of her new album If I Said Only So Far I Take It Back, which will be released on March 9 via Single Lock Records. Dyson joined Cloher and the rest of the band during the encore performance of “Fear Is Like a Forest,” which was easily a highlight of the evening.

Find photos and setlists from both Mia Dyson and Jen Cloher posted below.

Mia Dyson:

Mia Dyson Setlist:

1. Diamonds
2. Gambling
3. Nothing
4. When the Moment Comes
5. Everything is Waiting for You
6. Fool
7. I Want Honey
8. Bleeding Heart
9. Open
10. Being Scared

Jen Cloher:

Jen Cloher Setlist:

1. Regional Echo
2. Forgot Myself
3. Sensory Memory
4. Shoegazers
5. Analysis Paralysis
6. Mount Beauty
7. Stone Age Brain
8. Great Australian Bite
9. Needle in the Hay
10. Strong Woman

11. Fear Is Like a Forest (with Mia Dyson)
12. Name in Lights


%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: