On Monday night, May 13th, legendary rockers The Who brought their “Moving On! Tour” to New York for a performance at Madison Square Garden. The tour has featured a local orchestra playing alongside the band as they run through their impressive catalogue of classics.

The duo of singer Roger Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend were joined by guitarist/backup singer Simon Townshend, keyboardist Loren Gold, bassist Jon Button and drummer Zak Starkey as they ran through a 24-song set primarily of tracks from their classic albums Tommy and Quadrophenia. The set was broken up into three parts, with the first one featuring the orchestra, a second one without them, with them rejoining the band during the third. The orchestra added just enough new to the songs without ever taking away from them, allowing favourites such as “Pinball Wizard,” “Who Are You,” “Love, Reign O’er Me” and “Baby O’Riley” to still shine with all the punch that fans would come to expect.

Both Daltrey and Townshend are in their 70s but gave their all throughout the performance which was actually somehow the first time that I have ever seen them before. Shame on me, as they delivered a wonderful performance that was as rocking as it was moving.

Find a full gallery of photos posted below, along with the setlist.

The Who setlist:

[With Orchestra]

1. Overture
2. It’s a Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Pinball Wizard
7. We’re Not Gonna Take It
8. Who Are You
9. Eminence Front
10. Imagine a Man
11. Join Together

[Without Orchestra]

12. Substitute
13. I Can See for Miles
14. Won’t Get Fooled Again
15. Behind Blue Eyes
16. Tea & Theatre @Info

[With Orchestra]

17. The Real Me
18. I’m One
19. The Punk and the Godfather
20. 5:15
21. Drowned
22. The Rock
23. Love, Reign O’er Me
24. Baba O’Riley


It was just last year that we saw British punk rockers IDLES play at Rough Trade NYC and Music Hall of Williamsburg in support of their utterly terrific sophomore album Joy as an Act of Resistance, which was released via Partisan Records. In that time the band’s following and reputation as a live force have grown considerably, so much so that the band announced a much bigger headlining show at Brooklyn Steel, which took place on May 10th.
Read the rest of this entry »

Premiere: Talkie – “Boring Now”

By Will Oliver, May 17th 2019

San Francisco indie rockers Talkie will release their brand new album Everything Matters on May 24th. Today we have the honor of premiering the 4th and final single shared from the record, “Boring Now.”

The single has this lush quality to it that reminds me of some of the charming work released by acts like Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin in the mid-2000s. Theirs a sweet and affirming nature to its vocals and interplay with its instrumentals that works to perfection and is an absolutely perfect way to lead into the release of the album next week.

Enjoy a listen to “Borning Now,” which is premiering below. Stay tuned for the full release of Everything Matters next week.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photos by Qbertplaya

Rising Philidelphia rapper Tierra Whack headlined New York for the first time on May 10th for a performance at the Rainbow Room as a part of the Red Bull Music Festival. She’s had quite a rise last year with the release of her debut album Whack World via Interscope Records and has kept the momentum going with new singles this year as well as performing at Coachella.

Our photographer Qbertplaya was there to capture photos from her Rainbow Room performance, all of which can be found posted in the gallery below, along with the setlist.
Read the rest of this entry »

Timothy Showalter’s Strand of Oaks returned with new album Eraserland earlier this year via Dead Oceans. Showalter recorded the record with all of My Morning Jacket (sans Jim James) and it helped give his sound a little extra new oomph that I was excited to see live.

Showalter brought the tour to Brooklyn on May 9th for a performance at Music Hall of Williamsburg, the same place where we last caught them back in 2017. They ran through eight tracks from the new record, with “Hyperspace Blues” emerging as a particular highlight as it does on the record.

Find a full gallery of photos posted in the gallery below, along with the setlist.
Read the rest of this entry »

Photo by Killian Young

Katie Toupin, formerly of Houndmouth, is preparing for the release of her debut album Magnetic Moves (we shared its title track earlier this month). on June 14th via Symphonic Distribution.

She’s currently on tour giving fans a preview of some of the album as well as her debut EP Moroccan Ballroom and brought the tour to New York on May 9th for a performance at Baby’s All Right.

Our photographer Killian Young was there to capture photos from her performance, all of which can be found in the gallery below.
Read the rest of this entry »

It’s been a long time coming but last week Imogen Heap finally made her long-awaited return to American this year as a part of her Mycelia tour. This included a two-night run in New York at Town Hall, where we caught night 2 on May 8th, 2019.

Not only were fans going to finally get to see Heap perform her own material again live but the show also featured her Frou Frou partner Guy Sigsworth as a part of her band on the tour, allowing her to freely switch between their material and her own, which was a nice little cherry on top.
Read the rest of this entry »

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses